Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Match Report : 10/08/2013

10 August 2013

Sponsored by

TOWN recorded their first win of 2013/14 with a 1-0 win over Stevenage.

Massimo Luongo was the Town hero with a stunning first-half strike.

Mark Cooper made four changes to the side that had triumphed in the Capital One Cup in midweek. Nathan Byrne made his first league appearance at left back, while there were also recalls for Massimo Luongo, Ryan Harley and Miles Storey.

From the kick-off Town were on the front foot and bearing down on goal. Luongo cut the ball back into the area but Andy Williams’ effort was blocked by a combination of Stevenage defenders. 

Luongo would provide for Williams minutes later, sliding an intricate ball through for the striker but Williams saw his effort neatly turned away by Arnold. Darren Ward also headed over from a corner.

With 25 minutes on the clock Town took the lead in some style. After a passage of patient passing, the ball eventually came to Luongo on the edge of the area. In a flash he had connected with his left boot and sent the ball flying past the sprawling Arnold and into the corner of the net.

Andy Williams spurned a difficult opportunity moments later after being well found by Nathan Thompson. Williams could only blaze the full-back’s cutback over the bar. Before the half was over, Grant Hall headed into the arms of Arnold from a corner.

The second half was a much closer affair and was punctuated by two Stevenage chances that came from Town mistakes. Firstly Greg Tansey blazed over before Tounkara could not connect with a teasing cross inside the six-yard box. 

Meanwhile Ryan Harley could not hit the target for Swindon after the ball had sat up invitingly for him inside the box. 

As time ticked away, substitute Alex Smith and Luongo both had efforts on goal but could not hit the target.

Swindon Town: Wes Foderingham, Nathan Thompson, Grant Hall, Darren Ward (Capt), Nathan Byrne; Yaser Kasim, Massimo Luongo, Ryan Harley, Tijane Reis, Andy Williams, Miles Storey

Substitutes: Tyrell Belford, Jay McEveley, Connor Waldon, Louis Thompson, Alex Smith, Jack Barthram, Troy Archibald-Henville.

Advertisement block