Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Town win at FL Awards

25 March 2013

Club News

Town win at FL Awards

25 March 2013

SWINDON Town has won the Perform Best Use of Digital Award at the Football League Awards 2013. 

Mark Isaacs, Operations Manager and Derrick Johnson, Head of Creative and Design received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Swindon Town’s Christmas ADVENTure campaign beat competition from Birmingham City, Bristol City, Crystal Palace, Leeds United and Plymouth Argyle to win the overall award.

Launched in December 2012, the main objective for the Christmas ADVENTure campaign was to drive attendances, raise awareness and engage supporters through e-marketing, the official website, social media channels, club sponsors and partners. The club’s achievement included a significant increase in revenue from online tickets, 30% increase in match day revenues and an 18% increase in match day hospitality sales. 

On winning the award Mark Isaacs, Operations Manager, said: “It is important that we engage with supporters through digital technology. We feel we have to be in continuous communication with our fan base.

“The ADVENTure campaign ran throughout December and we themed a lot of activities around it – it drove the revenues up by £100,000 for the month and we were delighted.”

A new award for 2013, this award aims to recognise the Clubs that best demonstrate results they have achieved during the 2012 calendar year by running innovative digital strategies or campaigns which engages with the target audience. 

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight’s winners and all those who were nominated.”

Other notable winners on the night included Watford’s Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth’s Matt Ritchie and Port Vale’s Tom Pope respectively. 

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit  

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account