Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Key Dates For 2017/18 Season Announced

20 February 2017

Club News

Key Dates For 2017/18 Season Announced

20 February 2017

Key dates for the 2017/18 season have been confirmed today, with EFL fixtures returning on the first weekend in August.

EFL fixtures for the 2017/18 season – which are due to be announced on Wednesday 21st June – will see all three divisions of the EFL kick-off over the weekend Friday 4th to Sunday 6th August. 

The regular season will continue until the weekend of 5th May 2018, when the Sky Bet Championship, Sky Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two will all come to a close. 

The EFL Play-Off Finals will then take place on successive days at Wembley Stadium over a Bank Holiday weekend in May, starting with the Championship Play-Off Final on Saturday 26th, ahead of the season finale for League One on Sunday 27th and League Two on Monday 28th May. 

The order of the Play-Offs has been reversed – i.e. the Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final will take place on the Saturday - to assist with international call-ups ahead of the 2018 World Cup. 

Supporters will have plenty of opportunities to watch their team play over the festive period with full fixture programmes on Saturday 23rd December, Boxing Day, Saturday 30th December and Monday 1st January 2018. 

Round One of the EFL Cup – which will be known as the Carabao Cup next season - will take place immediately after the season openers, with midweek slots on week commencing Monday 7th August. 

The majority of Premier League teams will join the competition from Round Two although those competing in European competitions will join in Round Three. 

The 2018 final is scheduled for Sunday 25th February. 

The 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy is scheduled to begin week commencing Monday 28th August. However, a review of the competition will take place at the end of the season and any adjustments to the schedule will be made accordingly. 


Sky Bet EFL fixtures announced – 21st June 2017

Sky Bet EFL Season starts – Weekend of 5th August 2017

Carabao Cup starts – Week commencing 7th August 2017

Checkatrade Trophy starts – Week commencing 28th August 2017

Sky Bet EFL Regular Season ends – Weekend of 5th May 2018


Sky Bet EFL Play-Offs – Weekend of 26-28th May 2018

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account