Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Town To Discover Carabao Cup First Round Opponents This Friday

Reds Unseeded For 1pm Draw

12 June 2017

Sponsored by

The draw for Round One of the 2017/18 Carabao Cup will be made at 1pm on Friday afternoon.

Taking place in Bangkok at the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink, the 35 ties will be revealed by World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey.

The draw will be streamed live from Thailand on various platforms, including the EFL’s new live streaming platform, iFollow, on Facebook via the Carabao Cup and Carabao UK pages and

Seventy EFL clubs will be in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing August 7th, with recently relegated Sunderland included. However, Championship newcomers Hull City and Middlesbrough will join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

The draw is also regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in the First Round with seeding decided by a club’s finishing position in the EFL.

Town are a non-seed ball in the Southern Section and they could be pitting their wits against one of the following teams:

Aston Villa, Birmingham City, Brentford, Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Fulham, Ipswich Town, Millwall, Milton Keynes Dons, Norwich City, Oxford United, Peterborough United, Queens Park Rangers, Reading, Southend United, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Nearly 1.5 million people went to matches in the EFL Cup last season as the competition recorded record breaking attendances. Victory in the competition’s final will guarantee the winner the first piece of silverware of the domestic season and a place in the Europa League in the following campaign.

This year’s final in February saw Manchester United beat Southampton 3-2 in front of over 85,000 people. The 2017/18 Carabao Cup Final, the 58th in the competition’s history, will take place at Wembley Stadium on 25th February.

Town famously tasted glory in this competition in 1969 after beating the mighty Arsenal 3-1 at Wembley to lift the iconic trophy.

Due to the global appeal of the competition, Carabao, the Thai energy drinks brand, became title sponsor to the competition and official EFL partner earlier this year, with the exclusive partnership running until 2020.

It is anticipated that the relationship with Carabao Energy Drink will increase that further, providing the opportunity to reach new audiences in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). The EFL Carabao partnership also represents a truly powerful and unique platform to expand the Carabao brand and establish Carabao as a major player in the global Energy Drinks market.

The newly named Carabao Cup offers a significant opportunity for the Thai brand to engage with football fans – a third of whom drink energy drinks – via its association with one of the biggest football competitions in the country, and Carabao plans to bring this partnership to life at every opportunity for customers and consumers.

Carabao, established fifteen years ago in Thailand, the home of energy drinks, is a premium, great tasting energy boost, designed to give consumers the energy they need to achieve their everyday goals.

The drink takes inspiration from ‘the Carabao’, the revered Asian water-buffalo, admired for its physical power, extraordinary stamina and unbreakable spirit.

Carabao is sold in 330ml cans and currently available in four variants: Original, Sugar Free, Green Apple and Green Apple Sugar Free, with further flavour launches planned before the end of 2017.

Here’s a full list of seeding, regionalisation and ball numbers within seeding groups:

North – Seeds:

  1. Barnsley
  2. Blackburn Rovers
  3. Bolton Wanderers
  4. Bradford City
  5. Burton Albion
  6. Derby County
  7. Fleetwood Town
  8. Leeds United
  9. Nottingham Forest
  10. Preston North End
  11. Rochdale
  12. Rotherham United
  13. Scunthorpe United
  14. Sheffield United
  15. Sheffield Wednesday
  16. Sunderland
  17. Wigan Athletic

North – Non-Seeds:

  1. Accrington Stanley
  2. Blackpool
  3. Bury
  4. Carlisle United
  5. Chesterfield
  6. Coventry City
  7. Crewe Alexandra
  8. Doncaster Rovers
  9. Grimsby Town
  10. Lincoln City
  11. Mansfield Town
  12. Morecambe
  13. Notts County
  14. Oldham Athletic
  15. Port Vale
  16. Shrewsbury Town
  17. Walsall

South – Seeds:

  1. Aston Villa
  2. Birmingham City
  3. Brentford
  4. Bristol City
  5. Bristol Rovers
  6. Cardiff City
  7. Charlton Athletic
  8. Fulham
  9. Ipswich Town
  10. Millwall
  11. Milton Keynes Dons
  12. Norwich City
  13. Oxford United
  14. Peterborough United
  15. Queens Park Rangers
  16. Reading
  17. Southend United
  18. Wolverhampton Wanderers

South – Non-Seeds:

  1. AFC Wimbledon
  2. Barnet
  3. Cambridge United
  4. Cheltenham Town
  5. Colchester United
  6. Crawley Town
  7. Exeter City
  8. Forest Green Rovers
  9.  Gillingham
  10. Luton Town
  11. Newport County
  12. Northampton Town
  13. Plymouth Argyle
  14. Portsmouth
  15. Stevenage
  16. Swindon Town
  17. Wycombe Wanderers
  18. Yeovil Town

Advertisement block