Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

EFL Confirm 2017/18 Key Dates

Important Dates To Put In Your Diary Ahead Of The New Season

23 May 2017

Sponsored by

Key dates for the 2017/18 season have now been confirmed by the EFL, with competitive football returning on the first weekend in August.

Town will learn their schedule when the fixtures come out on Wednesday 21st June.

We will then kick-off the new Sky Bet League Two campaign over the weekend Friday 4th to Sunday 6th August.

The regular season will continue until the weekend of Saturday 5th May 2018, when the Sky Bet Championship, Sky Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two will all come to a close.

The EFL Play-Off Finals will then take place at Wembley on successive days over a May Bank Holiday weekend, starting with the Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final on Saturday 26th, while the Sky Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two grand finales take place on Sunday 27th and Monday 28th respectively.

The EFL Cup – which has been renamed the Carabao Cup for the 2017/18 season – will get underway the week commencing Monday 7th August, just days after the first weekend of EFL league fixtures.

The Checkatrade Trophy will then begin at the end of August, with Group Stage fixtures getting underway the week commencing August 28th.

2017/18 KEY DATES:

Sky Bet EFL fixtures announced – 21st June 2017

Sky Bet EFL season starts – Weekend beginning 5th August 2017

Carabao Cup starts – Week commencing 7th August 2017

Checkatrade Trophy starts – Week commencing 28th August 2017

Sky Bet EFL regular season ends – Weekend of 5th May 2018

Sky Bet EFL Play-Off Finals – Weekend of 26th-28th 2018

Click HERE to see the EFL key dates in full. 

Advertisement block